Township Board

Fenton Township Board members 2022 arranged in two rows in front of US, State of Michigan, and Fenton Township flags

The Township Board is a seven (7) member board is made of the Township Supervisor, Treasurer, and Clerk along with four (4) Township Trustees.

Fenton Township Trustees:

  • Mark Goupil
  • Kade Katrak
  • Robert Kesler
  • Christine Reid

Like the supervisor, clerk, and treasurer, the trustees are members of the township board with an equal vote in legislative and administrative government decisions within the jurisdiction of the township board. Unlike the supervisor, clerk, and treasurer, however, trustees are not delegated specific statutory duties and responsibilities. As previously indicated, trustees serve terms of four years just like the supervisor, clerk, and treasurer.

In Townships having a population of 5,000 or more or having 3,000 or more qualified and registered electors as shown by registration records at the close of registration for the November election, four trustees may be elected (MCL 168.358(3)). The four trustees shall be elected at the first regular township election held after the additional trustees have been authorized.

As the name implies, a trustee is an individual placed in a position of public trust with fiduciary responsibilities to manage the affairs of the township for the best interests of the public. The trustee has the responsibility to attend township board meetings and participate in decisions and deliberations.

Trustees should be given an opportunity to investigate and study important decisions before voting. Trustees are frequently given additional duties and responsibilities by township board action.

The previous description was excerpted from Authorities & Responsibilities of Michigan Township Officials, Boards and Commissions published by the Michigan Townships Association, copyright 1995.

Share This Page